My first review


I have had my first review. It feels like the school’s first report, but it’s infinitely more satisfying. I have, in truth, wondered what people may think of my novel. The publisher, clearly, liked it. My friends, close friends and relatives all thought it was marvellous. In the same way, perhaps, as Mummy Cockroach thinks her babies are cute.

This one, though, is my first review, on Amazon, from someone who has purchased my novel and read it, knowing nothing of the research, heartache, love and dedication which has gone into it.

“I couldn’t put this book down. The descriptions of people, places, emotions, scents – all bringing war-torn Sicily and its long past to mind. The characters are very well-drawn, and this in itself helps the astonishing ending in the last few pages come to a threatening and ultimately eye-widening denouement. I just wanted it to go on and on. As good as any best-selling thriller you can name – let’s hope it gets to that well-deserved status.”

 

~ by angie voluti on August 9, 2011.

Leave a comment